Entries are now open for the 2021 Mosman Art Prize.

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award. It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work.

As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected form a significant collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947. Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Elisabeth Cummings, Guan Wei, Michael Zavros, Natasha Walsh and Salote Tawale.


  • Mosman Art Prize (major acquisitive prize) - $50,000
  • Margaret Olley Commendation Award supported by Gillian and the late Brian Jones - $6,000
  • Allan Gamble Award supported by Christine and the late Hugh Fraser - $3,000
  • Guy Warren Emerging Artists' Award (under 35) supported by Fourth Village Providore - $2,000
  • Viewers’ Choice Award supported by Mosman Art Society - $1,000


The 2021 Mosman Art Prize will be judged by Rhana Devenport ONZM, Director, Art Gallery of South Australia.

Rhana Devenport is the first woman to hold the position of Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia. In addition to being a museum director, she is a curator, editor, and cultural producer whose career spans art museums, biennials and arts festivals.  As former Director of Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki she curated the work of Lisa Reihana for the New Zealand Pavilion at the 2017 Venice Biennale. Prior to that she was Director of the Govett-Brewster Art Gallery in New Plymouth, leading to the development of the Len Lye Centre. In Australia she worked on the first four Asia Pacific Triennials at the Queensland Art Gallery. Her curatorial interests include contemporary art of Asia and the Pacific, time-based media and social practice.


Receipt of Entries: Monday 30 August, 8am – 7pm.
To be eligible for judging all artwork must be delivered to the Gallery on this day.

It is important that you read the Terms & Conditions and the Frequently Asked Questions before submitting your online entry form;


An online entry form must be submitted for each entry (maximum of two per artist) prior to the artwork receipting day (30 August).


To find out more about the history of the Mosman Art Prize, click here.

For enquiries please contact Jane Gillespie on 02 9978 4186 or j.gillespie@mosman.nsw.gov.au

Monday 30 August 8:00 am to 7:00 pm

Entry fee: $50 + Trybooking administration fee